The Dirt on Pregnancy Weblog


6 Week Update
September 24, 2008, 1:24 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I just had my 6 week post partum checkup with my OB and had a nice long talk about what happened, what could/should/would have happened, etc. His conclusion was that the space between my tailbone and my pubic bone is really narrow. Oliver was facing up and even a little crooked in that position, his head was not perfectly aligned and did not fit. He doesn’t know for sure, but thinks that perhaps if the baby was perfectly lined up, he may have been able to fit through. But he wasn’t, so we’ll never know. He didn’t have an abnormally big head, in fact, his head circumference was in the 19th percentile. I asked about what my options would be for the next baby and he basically said, there is a good chance that it will happen the same way. There’s also a chance that a different baby will fit differently. But, I have some options and if I don’t want to go through everything again, then we can look into planning on a c-section. It’s tough to really think about it too much until we are put into the situation, but I think I’d like to try to give birth vaginally and without medication, if there are signs that things look good. If everything about it looks like the first pregnancy, then no, I’m not going to go through all the pain, just to have another c-section. So, we’ll see. Oliver truely is a great tempered baby, breast feeding has been smooth (after the pain subsided) and the pregnancy was easy. You can’t have it all, so my bad part was the labor and delivery.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

